Deviant Login Shop  Join deviantART for FREE Take the Tour
×

:iconfriendlyhand: More from FriendlyHand


More from deviantART



Details

Submitted on
June 8, 2012
Link
Thumb

Stats

Views
18,504
Favourites
241 (who?)
Comments
27
×
Here are some art related sites that you may find useful. Some have more to offer than the category heading may imply! Feel free to note me if you have any problems with links or if you want me to add new links

FIGURE DRAWING RESOURCES (may contain nudes):
Figure Drawing sessions: www.artmodelbook.com/figure-dr… 900 schools and galleries in the USA and Canada that offer figure drawing sessions you can attend
pixelovely: www.pixelovely.com/gesture/fig… reference photos of people and animals
PoseManiacs: www.posemaniacs.com/ anatomical drawing references
Quickposes: www.quickposes.com/pages/gestu… nude photos for figure drawing
Zvork Virtual Lighting: www.zvork.fr/vls/ interactive lighting on 3d human models
human anatomy for artists: www.human-anatomy-for-artist.c… reference photos: small images= free/ large images available with membership
human comic art reference photos: photo-reference-for-comic-arti… huge professional photo reference site
Female Anatomy for Artists: www.female-anatomy-for-artist.…
Live Model Books: posespace.com/
also google image search or tumblr search (be aware that you may end up seeing some porn images)


ONLINE COURSES, TUTORIALS, VIDEOS and other resources
animation resources animresource.blogspot.com/ a long list of animation related links
Animation Mentor: www.animationmentor.com/
The Animation Collaborative: www.animationcollaborative.com…
Art Center: theartcenter.blogspot.com/ artists' tips
ArtistsHospital tutorial list on DA: fav.me/d27ttdn list of popular art software tutorial links
Artpapa: www.artpapa.com - lessons, online workshops and video workshops
Beyond Art Tutorials beyondarttutorials.com/ drawing and digital tips and tutorials
Cartoon Brew: www.cartoonbrew.com/
CGMA(2D Academy): www.cgma2dacademy.com/
Character Design Blog: characterdesign.blogspot.com/  character design animation and storytelling
Chong Toons: chongtoons.blogspot.com/  animation learning and resources
Chris Oatley: chrisoatley.com/
Conceptart: www.conceptart.org/forumdispla… - art schools, tutorials, and community mentoring
Concept Design Academy: www.conceptdesignacad.com/
CrimsonDaggers: crimsondaggerblood.blogspot.co… livestreams, challenges and chats focused on improving fundamental skills
Ctrl Paint ctrlpaint.com/ Digital painting tips tutorials and videos
Deviantart Tutorials: browse.deviantart.com/resource… art tutorials
Dr. Sketchy: www.drsketchy.com/
drawingtutorialsonline drawingtutorialsonline.com Paid courses
Drawn!: www.drawn.ca/
Feng Zhu: www.fzdschool.com/
Freddie Williams (Digi-Art Quick Tools): www.freddieart.com/quicktools/…
Gnoman: www.gnomonschool.com/
i draw girls: idrawgirls.com (theartclasses.com) drawing tutorials and videos
Illustrator Magazine: www.illustration-magazine.com/
Lynda.com: www.lynda.com/
Motivarti: motivarti.org/mentorship-progr…
Permanoobs permanoobs.org critiques challenges and tutorials
Photoshop Lady: www.photoshoplady.com/ lots of photoshop tutorials
PSDTuts+: psd.tutsplus.com/
The Safe House: www.thesafehouseatelier.com/
Schoolism: schoolism.com/
Sketchoholics: www.sketchoholic.com/  art resource and competition and make your own book
Storyboard Secrets: storyboardsecrets.com/
the art classes theartclasses.com drawing tutorials and videos- mostly paid courses I think
TAD: theartdepartment.org/what-is-t… The Art Department- High quality online art school (paid)
Total Training: www.totaltraining.com/
tutorialized.com tutorialized.com
tutsplus.comtutsplus.com
Youtube: youtube.com has many many tutorials (some are good, and others are not as good, so peek at the finished drawing at the end of the video before watching the whole thing)
Youtube-matthew39arch www.youtube.com/watch?v=lwvsTO… one example of insightful (intermediate-advanced) drawing tutorials
Youtube-richgraysson www.youtube.com/user/RICHGRAYS… has a series of beginners drawing tutorials
Video Co-Pilot: www.videocopilot.net/


COMIC BOOK creation, publishing and printing (just started working on this list)

alibaba www.alibaba.com/showroom/comic-book-print-on-demand.html‎ print on demand
createspace.com print on demand
diamondcomics.com distributor
imagecomics.com
IndyPlanet
Ka-blam ka-blam.com comic printing company for self publishers
Lulu.com
printninja
RA Press www.nationsprint.com/clients/r…



FORUMS- most of which have job ads
Artpapa: www.artpapa.com - teach, learn, show, browse art and forums.
Conceptart: www.conceptart.org/ - art, forums, portfolios, tutorials, and jobs
CGhub: cghub.com/ Computer graphic art work, tips tools and forum with some jobs
CGTalk: forums.cgsociety.org/ Computer generated art forum
DeviantArt: www.deviantart.com/ forums and galleries with job ads
DigitalWebbing: www.digitalwebbing.com comic book news, forums and jobs
DrawingBoard organization: www.drawingboard.org/ forums, galleries and a few jobs
Elfwood: www.elfwood.com/ Sci-fi and fantasy art, fan art, stories and forums
Epilogue: www.epilogue.net/index.php Fantasy art community
FurAffinity: www.furaffinity.net furry and anthro art (some NSFW) with commissions and jobs in the forum
ModDB www.moddb.com/forum/board/recr… games and mods forum with job ads
Nabyn: www.nabyn.com/ A small art community- currently in open beta
Newgrounds: www.newgrounds.com/art art,games,audio, and forums
Pixeljoint: www.pixeljoint.com/forum/forum… gaming forum with job offers
Shadowness: shadowness.com/ art community
SheezyArt: www.sheezyart.com/- Art, critiques, scoring, clubs
Storm-Artists: www.storm-artists.net/ - art showcase and discussion
VirtualPetlist: www.virtualpetlist.com/forum.p… Virtualpets list forum and market
wipnation: www.wipnation.com/ art articles, interviews and inspiration
ZWOL: www.zwol.org/forum/viewforum.p… comic and webcomic message board


Full Time or Part Time Job Listings and Company career pages:
Indeed: www.indeed.com/ job search with info from various job sources
Game Guzzler: www.gameguzzler.com/  post or search gaming company job offers
Gamasutra: www.gamasutra.com/jobs/
Green Light Jobs: www.greenlightjobs.com/
Creative Talent Network: www.creativetalentnetwork.com/
AWN: www.awn.com/
CreativeHeads.Net: www.creativeheads.net/
Booyah: www.booyah.com/
Kabam: www.kabam.com/careers
Pop Cap Games: www.popcap.com/
Crowdstar: www.crowdstar.com/jobs
Tiny Co.: www.tinyco.com/jobs.php
LeapFrog: www.leapfrog.com/en/home/compa…
Riot Games: www.riotgames.com/
Storm 8: www.storm8.com/
Double  Fine: www.doublefine.com/jobs/
Tell Tale Games: www.telltalegames.com/company/…
Wildbrain Animation: www.wildbrain.com/careers.html
Dreamworks (Glendale PDI): careers.dreamworksanimation.co…
Disney Animation (Feature): www.disneyanimation.com/
Playdom (Disney Social Games): corpweb.playdom.com/careers.ht…
Pixar: corpweb.playdom.com/careers.ht…
Lucasfilm Recruiting: jobs.lucasfilm.com/
EA: jobs.ea.com/
Hasbro: jobs.hasbro.com/go/Hasbro-Stud…
Cryptic Games: crypticstudios.com/openings
Zynga: company.zynga.com/careers
Film Roman: www.filmroman.com/career…
Nickelodeon Careers: nickanimationstudio.com/
Laika: laika.silkroad.com/epostings/i…
Tit Mouse: titmouse.net/
Rough Draft Animation: www.roughdraftstudios.com/jobs…
Renegade Animation: www.renegadeanimation.com/
PlayFirst: www.playfirst.com/about/…
PocketGems: pocketgems.com/jobs/explore



GALLERIES and PORTFOLIOS
500px: 500px.com/ Photography gallery
The Academy or Art University - Portfolio Site: portfolios.academyart.edu/
Artweb: www.artweb.com your personal online gallery
Behance: www.behance.net/ professional artist portfolios
Cartoon Retro: cartoonretro.tumblr.com/  retro cartoon art
Character Model (tumblr): charactermodel.tumblr.com/  concept art, and model sheets from games, books, movies, etc
FFFFound: ffffound.com/ unusual images
Flickr: www.flickr.com/ Photo sharing
Frederator: www.channelfrederator.com/ animation blog
Google Art Project: www.googleartproject.com/ virtual museum of high rez, zoomable paintings
Living Lines: livlily.blogspot.com/  animation archive and links
tumblr: www.tumblr.com/ -Gobs of interesting art and photos


ONLINE SHOPS TO BUY AND SELL art or products:
Artbreak: www.artbreak.com/ buy and sell art online
Artfire: artfire.com handmade marketplace to buy and sell
ArtWanted: artwanted.com/ browse , buy, sell and search art
Artweb: www.artweb.com buy and sell art
CafePress: cafepress.com Custom clothing and gifts with your art or photo
Ebay: ebay.com buy and sell most anything
Etsy: www.etsy.com/ - buy and sell arts and crafts, vintage, and supplies
Redbubble: www.redbubble.com/ - Buy and sell your art prints or tees etc.
Sketchmaven: www.sketchmaven.com buy and sell original comic art
Society6 society6.com/ affordable art prints, iphone cases, tee shirts...
Spraygraphic: www.spraygraphic.com/ creative art and thought put into clothing
Threadless: threadless.com art on clothing and accessories, also competitions
Zazzle: zazzle.com custom tee shirts and customized gifts


Sites for Freelance Jobs:
Elance www.elance.com/ free members can bid on a few jobs monthly
Fiverr: fiverr.com/ buy or sell goods or services here for five dollars (US$)
Freelancer.com: freelancer.com Plenty of art jobs with budget range provided
Freelance.com: www.freelance.com Didn't see many art jobs here. clunky interface
Freelanced.com: freelanced.com freelance jobs sorted by category and location
Guru.com: www.guru.com/ a freelance marketplace
iFreelance: www.ifreelance.com/ nice layout but not many art jobs
Illustrationweb: www.illustrationweb.com/ illustrators and clients
oDesk: www.odesk.com/find-work a global marketplace for businesses and freelancers
SimplyHired: www.simplyhired.com/ search through job ads pulled from various other sites.
theLoop: theloop.com.au a career network for creative talent mostly in Australia


Organizations:
Animation Guild: animationguild.org/
ASIFA: www.asifa-sf.org/
Society of Illustrators: www.societyillustrators.org/
National Cartoonist Society: www.reuben.org/
Society of Children's Book Writers Illustrators (SCBWI): www.scbwi.org/
Graphic Artist Guild: www.graphicartistsguild.org/


Short Articles and Advice About Freelancing:
An introduction to Freelance Art
How to become a freelance artist
Getting Your Shit Together: gyst-ink.com/blog/?p=28


If you find any broken links or would like to add a link, just send me a note!

Thanks,
FH
Add a Comment:
 
:icontriaszephyr:
TriasZephyr Featured By Owner Mar 22, 2014  Student Traditional Artist
Thanks for the huge set of links!

But "I don't recommend becoming a freelance illustrator" directs to a "not found" page.
Reply
:iconfriendlyhand:
FriendlyHand Featured By Owner Mar 23, 2014  Professional Digital Artist
Thanks for the heads-up! I'll remove the link.
Reply
:iconchibstudio:
ChiBStudio Featured By Owner Feb 25, 2014
love castle's link doesn't work anymore.
:c
Reply
:iconfriendlyhand:
FriendlyHand Featured By Owner Feb 25, 2014  Professional Digital Artist
Awwww. Thanks for letting me know!  I'll add a note and then take down the link if it stays offline.
Reply
:iconmitteam:
MitTeam Featured By Owner Feb 12, 2014  Professional Digital Artist
this is very helpfull , I have to thank you again :D
Reply
:iconfriendlyhand:
FriendlyHand Featured By Owner Feb 13, 2014  Professional Digital Artist
My pleasure! :)
Reply
:iconleighad:
LeighAD Featured By Owner Dec 30, 2013
Awesome stuff. Thanks.

So you know, comixpress has recently shut down: comicsbeat.com/comixpress-shut… A lot of people seem to like RA Comics, www.nationsprint.com/clients/r… I've never used them, but I've heard good things.

It might be worth pointing out that for comic books, Lulu is pretty pricey - it costs about twice as much as Ka-blam (base price $25 versus $12 for only 100 page, full color, perfect bound paper back book). Ka-blam also allows printing/sales of comic issues, as opposed to just paperback.
Reply
:iconfriendlyhand:
FriendlyHand Featured By Owner Jan 1, 2014  Professional Digital Artist
Updated the links, thanks! =)
Reply
:iconnoxious-somnium:
noxious-somnium Featured By Owner Dec 11, 2013  Hobbyist General Artist
-cries- too beautiful
Reply
:iconfriendlyhand:
FriendlyHand Featured By Owner Dec 12, 2013  Professional Digital Artist
=)
Reply
Add a Comment: